Starbucks Lemon Poppyseed Bread

When I tried the lemon poppyseed bread at Starbucks, I fell in love. It was so good, and I’ve inspired a lot of my friends to try it too! We all love it, so after a few times buying it, I realized I could simply make it. I searched for recipes online, and came up with the same recipe over and over again… So it must be the real copy! I made it and in literally one day, it was completely gone. Even my step-dad, who hates lemon desserts, loved it. It’s super soft and fluffy (which I like, so that proves that it’s even better than the one at Starbucks – that one isn’t fluffy), moist and delicious. It’s lemony – but not too lemony. The sides have more of a lemon taste than the middle, so that’s my favorite part. It’s much cheaper to make it to buy it, too! Like I said, I found many of the same recipe, but I got this exact one (and the picture) from Starbucks Restaurant At Home’s website!

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 eggs, room temp

1 cup sugar

2 tablespoons butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 teaspoons lemon extract

1/3 cup lemon juice

1/2 cup oil

4 tablespoons poppyseeds

Zest of one lemon

Glaze:

1/4 cup water

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup lemon juice

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9×5 loaf pan.

2. Loaf: In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In a medium bowl, combine eggs, sugar, butter, vanilla, lemon extract and lemon juice with a mixer until blended. Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and blend until smooth. Add oil, poppyseeds and zest and mix well. Pour into loaf pan and bake for 45 minutes to an hour until toothpick comes out clean. Remove from oven and pour glaze over it, then cool in pan on a rack.

3. Glaze: Combine all ingredients in a saucepan. Simmer until reduced in half.

September 24, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Breads.

4 Comments

  1. laurenm83 replied:

    This looks great, I love anything with lemon in it!

  2. Oldest Daughter Redheaded Sister replied:

    I can’t wait to make this for my friend, Wendie, she loves the lemon bread at Starbucks, too. Thanks! Oh, and thanks for the like, as well. :D

  3. Charlotte replied:

    Love lemony desserts!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

