Key Lime Pie: The Only One I’ll Make

Picture: AllRecipes

This is absolutely my favourite key lime pie recipe. I tried making the pie only once before, but it didn’t turn out so good. So a few days ago, I was at my friend’s cottage and her parents wanted her to make their favourite pie; key lime pie. Since I love baking, I volunteered to help out. It was one of the simplest, easiest recipes to do. Just mix a few ingredients, pour it in a crust, bake it and refrigerate! It tastes limey, rich and smooth, and it doesn’t fall like mush; it stays perfectly in place when cutting it. Feel free to add an extra lemon piece on top!

Ingredients

1 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crust

3 cups sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup sour cream

3/4 cup lime juice

1 tbsp. grated lime zest

 

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

2. In a medium bowl, combine condensed milk, sour cream, lime juice and lime zest. Pour into crust.

3. Bake in oven for 5-9 minutes, until tiny pinhole bubbles burst on the surface of pie. Do not brown.

4. Refrigerate 2-3 hours or overnight. Garnish with limes or/and whipped cream if desired.

July 23, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , . Pie.

12 Comments

  1. TheWhiteRamekins replied:

    wow…this filling looks so velvety and smooth.

  2. Ana Bella replied:

    WOW! That looks so good and seems so simple. I’m going to have to try this one out! :)

    • mostlydesserts replied:

      It really is:). It’s so moist and yummy! Takes at most 10 minutes. You should definitely try it out!

  3. Sweet Dreamz Cakery replied:

    I love key lime pie. I wil have to try this.

  4. good table matters replied:

    Key lime pie is one of my favorites–this looks so simple. Thanks for sharing!

    • mostlydesserts replied:

      Your welcome, and yes, it is probably the most simple pie I’ve made!

  5. heathershotcakes replied:

    Wow this looks delicious. What do graham crackers taste/ look like? We don’t have these in Australia but I can probably find something similar with some help. My boyfriend just attempted to reach into my iPad to eat it so I better try this recipe!

    • mostlydesserts replied:

      Haha it’s crushed graham crumbs so they taste like sweet crackers i guess? Not really sure how to explain it, have you ever had smores? Crackers with marshmallows and chocolate.. well they’re the crackers :)

  6. Easy Key Lime Pie | Liv Lives Life replied:

    […] is why I was thrilled when I rediscovered this recipe by Mostly […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

