5 minute Brownie in a Mug

Photo:Babble

These 5 minute brownies will please any crowd. They taste great, and no one will believe they only took a couple of minutes to create. Add chocolate chips for a little extra flavour. The brownie may be very rich and heavy, so adding a topping like whipped cream or ice cream balances out the flavours. The recipe was altered from Squidoo, where you can find many different kinds of articles.

Note: The recipe from Squidoo was too much for me, since it made a very big portion, so I halved the recipe, but feel free to double it!

Ingredients

2 tablespoons flour

2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa

A dash of salt

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 tablespoon water

1/3 teaspoon vanilla

Small handful of chocolate chips (optional)

1/3 cup vanilla (or your favourite kind!) ice cream or whipped cream (optional)

Directions

Whisk together dry ingredients in a coffee mug, standard size (11 oz.) or larger. Add oil, water, and vanilla and mix thoroughly — making sure to scrape the bottom and sides so that it’s all incorporated. If you’d like, mix in chocolate chips.

Microwave on high for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. The finished product will be soft and chewy.

Cool for a minute. Top with whipped cream or ice cream, if you would like. Eat right out of the mug. Don’t wait long, as the brownie will harden with time.

May 7, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , . Brownies, Chocolate.

27 Comments

  1. itsthecookiemonster replied:

    oh i’ve always wanted to try this! this is perfect for my constant craving for chocolate!

  2. Ana Bella replied:

    I’m going to have to try this one! Thanks for following my little blog! :) Yours looks awesome! I will be following you now too!

  3. shimmeshine replied:

    I am so making this one !!

    • mostlydesserts replied:

      great! Top with ice cream/ whipped cream for sure; it makes it SO much better(:

  4. thenewviewnl replied:

    Love love love! It’s so easy and it takes only 5 minutes. I’m going to make this on soon!

  5. boredinboston replied:

    I can’t wait to try this! It looks like the perfect treat for the end of a long day or a fun dessert for company.

  6. EvillyChic replied:

    Simple recipe with tempting picture. :) I have to make it soon. Nom Nom!

  7. Alice replied:

    Looks so good! I’d love to try it, but I really don’t have any luck with microwaves – the first time I used one, I melted the bowl because I didn’t realise that the chocolate wouldn’t look melted when it actually was, so I kept putting it back in! Oh well, maybe this would be the perfect thing to try – using someone else’s mug!
    Alice :)

    • mostlydesserts replied:

      haha im not the best with microwaves either, i always used to have to ask my mom what i could and couldnt put in!

  8. dwittopinions replied:

    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Have fun!
    http://dwittopinions.wordpress.com/

  9. chocolateshells replied:

    Reblogged this on Chocolate Shells and commented:
    If you have had a long week and need a quick pick me up / Chocolate Fix?
    Then give this a try…
    At the end of the day its not a million mile away from the original idea of a cup cake. small cakes baked in a cup for afternoon teas.

  10. Mandy's Marvelous Meals replied:

    This looks good….I’ve never had success with mug cakes or cookies or brownies, but maybe this one will be a winner! I like reading your blog & I’ve nominated you for “The Liebster Award”. You can find the information here http://triplemcooking.com/2012/05/14/liebster-award/
    Cheers to dessert!!

  11. L2Kitchen replied:

    This looks so good!! :O

  12. reg45 replied:

    I am going to try this with my grand-kids this weekend. I like that it uses no eggs! Thanks for subscribing. now am subscribing to your site as well!

  13. Teresa Cleveland Wendel replied:

    This sure beats the five minute healthy breakfast muffin recipe my friend gave me some weeks ago!!

  14. Alex replied:

    Just tried it! Tastes absolutely wonderful =p~ Can you please add a Pinterest button on this post? I’d love to pin it to my board! :D

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

